Awkward Ears

Or So It Goes

Posted on: July 18, 2008

Mmmkay.
I don’t have too much to say about this band, primarily because I don’t know a great deal about them. I believe they are a relatively new band, but i’m not sure, and i think that they only have a few songs floating around, but again i’m not sure. So, you can tell i’ve really done the research. But to be completely honest with you, i’m away from my usual computer, and battling with low memory and shit-strict bandwidth limitations. So doing the basic researchmakes me feel like i’m in one of those overly-impossible National Treasure movies.

...Or So It Goes

Or So It Goes kind of sound like a new age math rock band,  along the lines of “Sorry, No Ferrari” “dakota/dakota”, “panther attack!”, “youmetheswitch” etc. So it’s good listening – interesting movement of guitars, catchy tapping, a few heavy breakdowns weaved beautifully in.

For those of you who are quite network savvy and already know this band and have gathered up all of their music, then i wouldn’t waste the bandwidth for the d-load. However, if this band is new to you, then the download would save you from having to gather up the various songs from the various sites. So call me the collector, the link is below.

Genre: Progressive/Indie/Math-Rock

myspace: www.myspace.com/orsoitgoes
download: http://www.mediafire.com/?2u3csyzuudt

8 Responses to "Or So It Goes"

You’ve yet to disappoint – can’t wait to hear it.

thanks michael. I hope the download isn’t a dissapointment seeing as it is just a collection of tracks. I’d be willing to track down the full EP though.

p.s, I have Marvin Revolt’s “Fell In Love With Tanks…” album on the way as well.

Not a disappointment…that Marvins Revolt album would be awesome. I’m still listening to Killec, regularly.

yes, sorry no ferrari reference may be called precise -even a couple basslines have the exact same sound- (yet here progressive elements seems to be more prominent). but, secondsmile, algernon cadwallader! c’mon. on the one hand there’s this ‘instrumental’, contemporary math rock band with some progressive tendency and on the other, those two which are generally accepted as emo-ish rock with -i don’t know- very distant math, prog traces. so, for the similars of ‘or so it goes’, i’d say: dakota/dakota, panther attack!, youmetheswitch etc.

A very fair comment, my references were very sloppy. Indeed, i’m not sure why i made the allusion to secondsmile, it must have been on while i was writing. I still maintain though that there are aspects of cadwallader that do permeate some of OSIG’s music. But perhaps not enough to be a direct reference. Thanks for your correction, ill take care of it now.

Hi. Even though this was posted a year ago, I just found it now and I found it interesting. Thanks for writing about our music, much appreciated.

For the record, we started the band in 2000.

Hi Justin,
I just re-read my review, or whatever you want to call it, and I don’t like what I wrote. My opinions have completely changed for your music. I’ve built up a strong appreciation in the last year and i feel what i wrote doesn’t do your band any justice. I should have given it more time and presented a more educated opinion. You guys really set yourselves apart from any of the bands I listed there in a very positive way. I’d like to do a re-post at some stage and i’ll send it to you. Thanks for taking the time.

Thanks for the kind words. Just send an e-mail to orsoitgoes@hotmail.com – we’d love to read it. Hope to see you at a show sometime. Cheers.

Leave a comment

Hey There

Welcome to Awkward Ears. This is a blog that is musically focused on bands that are technical, angular, awkward and fucking awesome. I buy records, CDs, etc. listen to them, and decide whether I like them. Then, if I do like them, I write about my experience and share the music. If you feel that you'd like my uploads taken off, please let me know. I don't want anyone hurt :) Be My Friend, because i have none at http://www.last.fm/user/breakorbit Follow me on twitter: http://www.twitter.com/awkwardears Just like a politician. Enjoy.