Awkward Ears

Tubelord

Posted on: August 12, 2008

Oh no.

I guess i’m just not cut-out to keep the stream of music coming as i had originally planned. But quality over quantity is what i always say – and that little catch-phrase should, and will, probably apply to this band. Their name is Tubelord, and every time i hear the name i think of some guy on a surfboard – because, you know, a wave that is breaking is sometimes referred to as a tube – surfer lingo, one day you’ll understand. Having just realized how sexually laced the first sentence of this entry was, as well as the pointlessness of everything that proceeded it , I’m going to get straight to the music.

Tubelord at there obvious best.

Tubelord at their obvious best.

While these guys may not be straight up math-rock, they are deliciously angular in their approach to music. Feed Me A Box Of Words has this kind of indie-dance feel to it. Sweet. The band have an Demo floating around which i could probably track down, but for now i have uploaded their first EP. im lovin’ it.

P.S. Sorry for the shortish kind of entry, i’ve been slacking but i have all this good music to show you.

Genre: Indie/Dance/Math-Rock

myspace: http://www.myspace.com/tubelord
download: http://www.mediafire.com/?idtwlildomn

5 Responses to "Tubelord"

Awesome! I recently heard them on the BSM 50 Not Out Comp. – “Half Man Half Amazing” is a great song. The vocals leave a little to be desired, but I can’t wait to hear the EP. Thanks.

Agree wholeheartedly. BSM have been quite lucky with some of the bands they have been able to pick up. True too, vocals get a bit wobbly sometimes, but other times he sings very well – when he isn’t yelling i guess.

The tone of the drums and guitar is just awesome – not to mention their rhythms. Enough so that I can kinda ignore the vocals when they get a bit grating.

right on, i’ve absolutely loved tubelord since they first started. heard their new EP yet?

What a savage band. Really sound lads as well, pardon the pun. Played with them a few years ago in Cork in Ireland when they were touring with Black Fish. Blew my socks off.

Leave a comment

Hey There

Welcome to Awkward Ears. This is a blog that is musically focused on bands that are technical, angular, awkward and fucking awesome. I buy records, CDs, etc. listen to them, and decide whether I like them. Then, if I do like them, I write about my experience and share the music. If you feel that you'd like my uploads taken off, please let me know. I don't want anyone hurt :) Be My Friend, because i have none at http://www.last.fm/user/breakorbit Follow me on twitter: http://www.twitter.com/awkwardears Just like a politician. Enjoy.