Awkward Ears

YouMeTheSwitch

Posted on: September 1, 2008

Oh yes.
Their name is all one word! Blasphamy. Anyway, within the past five to eight years or so, the UK has seen a blossoming of angular, yet very listen-able, music including the likes of (in no particular order): This Town Needs Guns, Enemies, Pennines, Jonquil, Meet Me In St. Louis and so very many more. Beautiful. YouMeTheSwitch are no exception.

YouMeTheSwitch basically started out with a 4-track with some programmed drums and a basic bassline. Which was all good and well, but how much can a band actually milk out of programmed drums, especially back in 2000. I mean omg.

You And Me And Da Switch

You And Me And Da Switch

I myself could never get into the Math-core that much – save for a few bands that were perfect in their technical approach – i preferred to listen to soft guitars and ghost-noted drums. That’s basically what this band are, no vocals but excellent utilization of instruments. Listen to Alpha C. Chaing, the open riff is perfect. Have fun with my 7 inch rip below.

Genre: Math Rock/Indie/Instrumental

myspace: www.myspace.com/youmetheswitch
download: www.mediafire.com/?i0wqezm46zv

Leave a comment

Hey There

Welcome to Awkward Ears. This is a blog that is musically focused on bands that are technical, angular, awkward and fucking awesome. I buy records, CDs, etc. listen to them, and decide whether I like them. Then, if I do like them, I write about my experience and share the music. If you feel that you'd like my uploads taken off, please let me know. I don't want anyone hurt :) Be My Friend, because i have none at http://www.last.fm/user/breakorbit Follow me on twitter: http://www.twitter.com/awkwardears Just like a politician. Enjoy.